The 2019 Appetite for Excellence winners were anno

first_imgThe 2019 Appetite for Excellence winners were announced last night at an awards ceremony at Glass Brasserie, Hilton Sydney. All three winners across the categories are currently working in restaurants outside of major cities, and of the five winners and ones to watch, four are female. Now in its 14th year, the national awards program continues to attract the best of Australia’s food industry each year, to celebrate and nurture young talent and the future of the hospitality industry. The 2019 applications were of an incredibly high standard yet again. Luke Mangan, co-founder of Appetite for Excellence said: “Every year I am blown away by the level of talent that comes through the program. More impressive though is the passion that each of these national finalists has for what they do. We had a group that was nothing short of outstanding and proved to me how valuable the time we as the judges spend with the group can be, hopefully guiding them to make the best decisions in their career and helping to set them up for successful careers in Australia’s restaurants.” The 2019 Perrier Aperitivo competition winner is Matty Opai from Icebergs Dining Room and Bar.The 2019 Appetite for Excellence winners2019 Appetite for Excellence Young Chef Winner: Bianca Johnston, Tom McHugo’s TASOne to Watch: Anna Ugarte-Carral, Momofuku Seiobo NSW2019 Appetite for Excellence Young WaiterWinner: Olivia Evans, Fleet NSWOne to Watch: Sophie Gitterle, Quay Restaurant NSW2019 Appetite for Excellence Young RestaurateurWinner: Luke Piccolo, Limone Dining NSWAwards judging is a two-month process, with this year’s judges including Jo Barrett, Peter Gilmore, Guy Grossi, Analiese Gregory, Luke Mangan, Dan Hunter, Martin Benn, Kylie Javier-Ashton, Phil Wood, Dan Puskas, Andrew McConnell, Danielle Gjestland, Lisa van Haandel, James Viles, Troy Rhoades-Brown, Richard Ousby and Marilyn Annecchini. Prior to the awards ceremony, the national finalists came together for the annual produce tour – three days of workshops and hands on learning experiences with producers, which this year took place in NSW across the Southern Highlands and South Coast. The judges included “I believe it is important to have programs like Appetite for Excellence for the next generation to give them great experience and potential exposure that could help shape their career,” said Peter Gilmore, who has been involved with the program for nine years. Of the judging process, Gilmore said: “There is definitely a system the judges use for scoring that covers things you’d expect like taste, presentation etc. But we also trust our instincts when it comes to choosing the winner. It’s sometimes pretty obvious the young chefs that have that little bit extra – positivity, openness and passion.” In addition to the chef, waiter and restaurateur categories, Appetite for Excellence and Perrier challenge Australia’s bartenders to create a modern Perrier Aperitivo cocktail using Perrier mineral water. This year’s competition was judged by two of Australia’s best bartenders: Luke Ashton, Diageo’s 2013 World Class Bartender of the Year and owner of This Must Be The Place and Jenna Hemsworth, Head Bartender at Restaurant Hubert, 2018 Australian Bartender of the Year and 2019 Australian Bacardi Legacy Champion. Appetite for Excellence is made possible by dedicated partners who understand the importance of investing in the future of the Australian hospitality industry. Major partners include: Tourism Australia, S.Pellegrino and Acqua Panna, Perrier and Parmalat Professional and Official Airline partner, Virgin Australia. Supporting partners include: PorkStar, Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC), Rare Medium and TAFE NSW. Event partners include: Glass Brasserie, Hilton Sydney, Vic’s Premium Quality Meats, L.J. Parthenos and Sons, Chef Works Australia, Leading Teams, Joto Fresh Fish and Unico Zelo wines. 2019 Appetite for ExcellenceawardschefsHilton Sydneyhospitalityhotelslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *