Victorian redivision for Electorates

first_imgThe Electoral Boundaries Commission (EBC) is currently conducting a redivision, which will redraw the boundaries for electorates in both Houses of State Parliament. The redivision is considering the boundaries of Victoria’s electoral regions and districts established by past redivisions. The redivision is drawing electoral boundaries to ensure that each vote in Victorian State elections has an equal value and that each elector is represented equally in the Victorian Parliament.The redivision is based on enrolments as at 30 November 2012. The average number of electors per electoral district (Lower House electorate) is the quota for electoral districts, and the average number of electors per electoral region (Upper House electorate) is the quota for electoral regions. The electoral districts and regions established in the redivision must not vary in enrolment by more than 10% from the quota. The quotas are: Quota for electoral districts: 41,473. Quota for electoral regions: 456,207The proposed electoral boundaries have been released. The proposed boundaries are on display at municipal council service centres and libraries throughout the State, and are also available at Information Victoria.Suggestions and objections about the proposed boundaries will be accepted until 5:00 pm, Monday 29 July.For more information, please visit the EBC website. Facebook Twitter: @NeosKosmos Instagramlast_img read more